Posted in Children, home, life

Parental right or wrong?

So a couple of months ago my ex came to see our daughter for her 8th Birthday. Mind you this guy doesn’t ever call or show up unless it benefits him! This time was no different!!!

Let me start at the beginning of this crazy month story. My daughter was born 8 years ago in October. She has always been a child to do for her and to always help everyone else so she never asked for a party, this year she finally asked and it was 2 weeks before hand. I made all the arrangements and made out all the invitations. She has a step father who adores her and would do anything for her, so when she asked if her biological father could be invited we both agreed. Thinking it would be good for him to see her with her friends. He turned her down.

After telling me he couldn’t make it due to plans already or because he wouldn’t be able to spend much time alone with her, she was heartbroken. Nothing brings this girl down until its time to see her biological father and he turns her down. She has so much love to give that I wish he could see the love she has for him.  Since she was 4 when we had split up he hasn’t really been there! He comes and goes but never really comes around!

So  a week or so later he wanted to come down. I agreed even though we had plans. I always made sure that even with plans I would fit him in. So the day we are all together I had plans with my Mother and her we all met at the Mall. I figure this is a great place for him to see who she really is, to see what she is into. If you were to ask this man what her favorite color was, her favorite book, anything like that he wouldn’t be able to give the right answer.

Walking around with him his girlfriend and her 2 children. My daughter kind of got left to the side because she isn’t anything like that family!I mean nothing bad by this. But my daughter doesn’t run around a mall or try to get everything she sees so it was different for her!

On to my point. My ex comes to me and tells me that he is getting married in December! Actually will be this weekend he gets married. Am I heartbroken for me NO for my amazing daughter Yes! He says he wants to know if there was anyway for me to get her up there. I explain that I’m not sure since its still a few months away. Here’s the kicker I wasn’t invited! I maybe wouldn’t have been so shocked if it wasn’t for the fact that she never spends time with him or the family! She doesn’t even know his girl friends name she wasn’t ever really introduced to her!

So here I sit and I wonder am I wrong for not driving my daughter 2 hours to a wedding when she isn’t even a part of it and the only person she’ll know is her father?

I know that it seems means but I feel horrible for my daughter. She has already stated she doesn’t want to go. I thank god for the fact that I have an amazingly smart child!

I wonder why it has to be so hard! I feel like the bad parent some days. Is it only me or is it like this with most parents that are split up?

Author:

stay at home mom and wife

Leave a Reply

